Georgia Municipal Clerks Association Virtual Board Meeting February 5, 2024 12:00 PM – 12:45 PM

Call To Order and Comments

President Russell called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone in attendance.

Roll Call:

The roll call was given by Vice President Walker-Reed with the following members in attendance:

Regina Russell, President
Deborah Walker-Reed, Vice President
Vernice C. Thompson, Treasurer
Sharon Nelson, Secretary
Melissa Chosewood, District 1
Marilyn Chastain, District 2
Shavala Ames, District 3
Richard McCoy, District 4

Sandra Haggard, District 5 (absent)
Telina Allred, District 6 (absent)
Kim Reddick, District 7
Margaret Shelley – District 8 (absent)
Angie Conner, District 9 (absent)
Melinda Crook, District 10 (absent)
Christina Evans, District 11 (absent)
Naomi Atkinson, District 12
Vicki Wainwright, Immediate Past President

Others

Pam Helton, GMA Sherri Bailey, GMA

Approval of Minutes

Secretary Nelson presented the January 17, 2024, minutes. Naomi Atkinson made a motion to approve the minutes. Richard McCoy gave a second with all voting aye. Motion approved.

Financial Report

Treasurer Thompson presented the financial report through November 2023, noting that we were just over 50% of our expenditures and have achieved over 150% of projected revenues. Richard McCoy made a motion to approve the financial report as presented. Naomi Atkinson gave a second with all voting aye. Motion approved.

IIMC Report

President Russell reminded everyone of the upcoming IIMC Annual Conference in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, May 19-22 and the scholarships available for assistance in attending. A reminder was given for the IIMC Region III Conference scheduled for February 27 – March 1.

CVIOG Report

Christina Collins was unavailable to present the report.

GMA Update

Pam Helton gave introductions of GMA members in attendance at the conference. She reminded everyone to review the Monday emails that provide everything that is going on with GMA. A reminder was given of the Small Cities Conference being held May 1-3 in Carrolton.

Committee Reports

- A. Naomi Atkinson, Co-Chair of the Scholarship committee came forward and gave the Bill Cain Scholarship report noting that the nominating committee awarded the scholarship to Courtney Chavers of Bainbridge, GA.
- B. Vice-President Walker-Reed gave the election committee report noting that current bi-laws require everyone in the State to vote.
- C. Vicki Wainwright announced that the Nominating Committee had recommended, and the Executive Committee and Board of Directors had approved the slate of District Directors and Officers as follows:
 - a. District 2: Jackie Yearwood, Franklin Springs
 - b. District 4: Susan Bartholomew, Griffin
 - c. District 6: Telina Allred, Byron
 - d. District 8: Margaret Shelly, Vienna
 - e. District 10: Malinda Crook, Blakely
 - f. District 12: Naomi Atkinson, Brunswick
 - g. District 3 Unexpired term: Shavala Ames, College Park

The nominating committee received only one nomination for secretary which was submitted to the Executive Committee and Board of Directors for approval. Marilyn Chastain, District 2, from the City of Helen will serve as Secretary of GMCA.

GMCA Officers serving for one year, 2024-2025, were submitted as follows:

- a. Past President Regina Russell, Acworth
- b. President Deborah Walker Reed, St. Mary's
- c. Vice President Vernice Thompson, Hazelhurst
- d. Treasurer Sharon Nelson, Calhoun
- e. Secretary Marily Chastain, Helen
- D. President Russell administered the Oath of Office to the District Directors and Officers in attendance at the meeting.

<u>Adjourn</u>
President Elect Walker-Reed gave the closing comments and the meeting adjourned at 12:45 PM.
Regina Russell, President

Sharon	Nelson,	Secretary	